Group Leader


Joseph F. Hennawi
Intergalactic and circumgalactic medium, galaxy formation, quasars and AGN, absorption line techniques, data mining
Tel. +1-805-893-3503
E-mail: joe@physics.ucsb.edu
ADS, Home Page

Postdocs


Riccardo Nanni
High redshift quasars, growth of the first supermassive black holes, X-ray supermassive black holes and surveys
Tel. +1-805-618-5139
E-mail: riccardonanni@ucsb.edu
ADS, Home Page
Koki Kakiichi
Reionization, high-redshift galaxies, radiative transfer/radiation hydrodynamics, 21cm cosmology
E-mail: kakiichi@ucsb.edu
ADS, Home Page
Suk Sien Tie
Lyman-alpha forest, IGM, astronomical instrumentation
E-mail: sstie@ucsb.edu
ADS, Home Page

PhD Students


Teng Hu
Lyman-alpha forest, Low z Intergalactic Medium
Tel. +1 217 819 2451
E-mail: tenghu@ucsb.edu

Molly Wolfson
Lyman-alpha forest, high-redshift IGM, reionization
E-mail: mawolfson@ucsb.edu
Home Page
John Tamanas
Applied machine learning, Statistical learning, Intergalactic medium
E-mail: jtamanas@ucsc.edu
ADS, Home Page

Undergrad Students


Zhuoqi Liu
Quasar variability, data mining and reduction
E-mail: zhuoqiliu@ucsb.edu

Visiting Scientists


Sebastiano Cantalupo
ETH Zürich, Assistant Professor
Numerical modeling and observation of the Intergalactic and Circumgalactic medium, Galaxy Formation, Ionizing and Ly-alpha Radiative Transfer, Hydrogen and Helium Reionization
E-mail: cantal@ucolick.org
ADS, Home Page
Michele Fumagalli
Durham University, ICC, Associate Professor
Galaxy evolution, distribution of gas and metals in and around galaxies, models of galaxy formation
E-mail: mfumagalli@ucolick.org
ADS, Home Page
David W. Hogg
New York University
Flatiron Institute

Cosmology, galaxy dynamics, exoplanets, and inference with large data sets
E-mail: david.hogg@nyu.edu
ADS, Home Page
Adam D. Myers
University of Wyoming, Associate Professor
MPIA, Alexander von Humboldt Fellow

Quasar classification in imaging surveys, Quasar clustering, Binary quasars
E-mail: geordiemyers@gmail.com
ADS, Home Page
Jason X. Prochaska
UCSC, Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics
MPIA, Alexander von Humboldt Fellow

Absorption line techniques, gas in galaxies, circumgalactic medium, intergalactic medium, star-formation, chemical enrichment
E-mail: xavier@ucolick.org
ADS, Home Page
Gordon T. Richards
Drexel University, Associate Professor of Physics
MPIA, Alexander von Humboldt Fellow

Quasars, Quasar Absorption Lines, Galaxy Evolution, Gravitational Lensing
E-mail: gtr@physics.drexel.edu
ADS, Home Page

Former Group Members


Michael Walther
Lyman-alpha forest, Thermal History of the IGM
Tel. +1-510-701-6845
E-mail: mwalther@physics.ucsb.edu
ADS, Home Page
Daniele Sorini
Intergalactic Medium, Lyman-alpha Forest, Stellar and AGN Feedback
Tel. +49 6221 528203
E-mail: sorini@mpia-hd.mpg.de
Home Page
Tobias Schmidt
Quasar Light Echos, Proximity Effect, Helium Reionization,
Tel. (+1) 805 893 7864
E-mail: tschmidt@physics.ucsb.edu
Home Page
Anna-Christina Eilers
Intergalactic Medium at High Redshifts, Epoch of Reionization
Tel. +49 6221 528483
E-mail: eilers@mit.edu
ADS, Home Page
Hector Hiss
Thermal history of the Intergalactic Medium, Lyman-alpha forest
Tel. +49 6221 528483
E-mail: hiss@mpia-hd.mpg.de
Home Page
Emanuele Paolo Farina
Circumgalactic medium, physical quasar systems, MgII absorption systems, high redshift quasars, redshift and variability of blazars.
Tel. +49 6221 528323
E-mail: emanuele.paolo.farina@gmail.com
ADS, Home Page
Frederick Davies
Large-scale fluctuations in the ionizing background, semi-numerical models of reionization, high redshift Lyman-alpha forest
Tel. +49 6221 528322
E-mail: davies@physics.ucsb.edu
ADS, Home Page
Vikram Khaire
Cosmic Ultraviolet Background, Intergalactic Medium
Tel. +1-805-837-4587
E-mail: vkhaire@physics.ucsb.edu
ADS, Home Page
Feige Wang
High redshift quasars, growth of the first supermassive black holes, black hole/galaxy coevolution, the history of cosmic reionization
Tel. +1-520-360-3967
E-mail: fgwang.astro@gmail.com
ADS, Home Page
Jonathan Stern
Northwestern University, CIERA Fellow
Confinement with Radiation Pressure, Active Galactic Nuclei
E-mail: yehonatan.stern@northwestern.edu
ADS, Home Page
Gábor Worseck
Potsdam University
Intergalactic medium, reionization of hydrogen and helium, quasar surveys.
E-mail: gworseck@astro.physik.uni-potsdam.de
ADS, Home Page
Jose Oñorbe
University of Edinburgh, Institute for Astronomy
Cosmological hydrodynamical simulations, galaxy formation and evolution, dwarf galaxies
E-mail: jose.onorbe@ed.ac.uk
ADS, Home Page
Ilya Khrykin
Southern Federal University, Rostov-on-Don
Helium II Reionization and its sources
E-mail: khrykin@mpia-hd.mpg.de
ADS, Home Page
Khee-Gan Lee
University of California, Berkeley, Hubble Fellow
Intergalactic medium, Lyman-alpha forest cosmology
E-mail: lee@mpia-hd.mpg.de
ADS, Home Page
Fabrizio Arrigoni Battaia
European Southern Observatory, ESO Fellow
Lyman alpha blobs
E-mail: arrigoni@mpia-hd.mpg.de
ADS, Home Page
Cristina García Vergara
Leiden University
Quasar environments, galaxy clustering at high redshifts, clusters of galaxies.
E-mail: garcia@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Home Page
Girish Kulkarni
University of Cambridge, Postdoctoral Fellow
Reionization, metal enrichment of intergalactic medium, SMBH assembly
E-mail: kulkarni@ast.cam.ac.uk
ADS, Home Page
Alberto Rorai
University of Cambridge
Reionization, thermal history of the intergalactic medium
E-mail: al.rorai@gmail.com
ADS, Home Page
Gabriela Calistro Rivera
Leiden University
Fitting Spectral Energy Distributions of AGN, Statistical Methods, AGN Obscuration
E-mail: calistro@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Elisabeta Lusso
Durham University, JRF Fellowship
AGN SED modelling, galaxy-black-hole co-evolution
E-mail: beta.lusso@gmail.com
ADS, Home Page
Kate Rubin
San Diego State University, Assistant Professor
Galaxy Evolution, galactic-scale outflows and infall, gaseous halos and absorption-line systems
E-mail: krubin@sdsu.edu
ADS, Home Page
Neil Crighton
Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing Swinburne University
Intergalactic medium, circumgalactic medium and gas around galaxies.
E-mail: neilcrighton@gmail.com
ADS, Home Page

MPG Humboldt Foundation MPIA

NEWS